MS Dhoni record as captain

MS Dhoni, the former Indian captain, and the right-handed batsman is one of the most well-known successful players in the history of cricket. MS Dhoni as a captain has earned many achievements in his career. Also, Dhoni was ranked as the best finishing batsman in the world. There were situations when Dhoni single-handedly won many matches for India. On this day(23rd June) exactly 9 years ago in 2013, MS Dhoni achieved this incredible record as a captain.

On 23rd June 2013, Dhoni led a young Indian Cricket Team to the winning title of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 by defeating England in the finals.

By winning this champions Trophy in 2013, MS Dhoni became the first captain in the history of men’s cricket to win all the 3 big ICC tournaments of the limited-overs in cricket.

MS Dhoni captain record
-MS Dhoni won T20 World Cup(2007), ODI World cup(2011) and ICC Champions Trophy(2013) as a captain

What Happened During The Finals Between India vs England ICC Champions Trophy 2013?

During the finals between India and England in ICC Champions Trophy 2013, heavy showers of rain threatened to play a spoilsport leading to a reduced 20-over match per side.

England was successful in restricting India to a low score of 129/7 as the only batsman Virat Kohli managed to be the leading scorer for his team with his knock of 43 runs from 34 balls.

It was the 2nd innings where Dhoni’s brilliancy as a captain proved to be the match’s turning point. England chasing a target of 130 runs in 20 overs was not able to face the fierce bowling and fielding attack of the Indian players, thereby scoring 124/8 in 20 overs.

MS Dhoni thinking out of the box, made use of his key bowlers such as Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Ishant Sharma to grab quick wickets of England’s in-form batsmen.

India finally wins the match by 5 runs in a tricky situation by following the ideas of the mastermind MS Dhoni.

MS Dhoni captain record
MS Dhoni captain record
MS Dhoni captain record
MS Dhoni captain record

Overall Facts about MS Dhoni as captain:

MS Dhoni made his limited-overs captaincy debut in T20 WorldCup 2007. Dhoni’s winnings as a captain in ICC tournaments include the T20 world cup(2007), 50-overs world cup(2011), ICC Champions Trophy(2013), and Asia Cup (2010 &2016) respectively,

MS Dhoni captain record
MS Dhoni winning T20 world cup(2007),ODI World Cup(2011), ICC Champions Trophy(2013) and Asia Cup(2010 and 2016) as shown in the image

Apart from the international matches, MS Dhoni as Chennai Super Kings captain led his team to a winning title four times in the years 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021 respectively.

MS Dhoni captain record

In 2017, MS Dhoni stepped down as the Indian team captain in the limited-overs of cricket. Since then, India has been in a search of a good captain in all formats of cricket.

Recently, Rohit Sharma’s winnings as a captaincy creates new hope for the Indian cricket team.



Also Read About:

8 thoughts on “On this Day in 2013 MS Dhoni become the first captain to achieve this record!”

Leave a Reply