Rishabh Pant

According to the latest news, The Indian Batsmen -wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant is set to make his debut as the New captain of the Indian Cricket Team against the South Africa series. Indian skipper KL Rahul was ruled out of the five-match T20 International series against South Africa due to a minor groin injury.

Also, Kuldeep Yadav is ruled out of this series because his right hand got injured while practicing on the nets. The selection committee has not decided on the replacement of these 2 players.

The India vs South Africa five-match T20 series starts today (9th June 2022) at the Arun Jaitley stadium, Delhi at 7:00 pm IST, streaming on Disney+Hotstar. Hardik Pandya will be the vice-captain of Team India for this T20 series against South Africa.

Rishabh Pant

Probably Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishan Kishan will be the opening batsmen of the Indian batting order in this series. It would be a challenging task for the 24-year young Rishabh Pant to captain Team India against South Africa. At the same time, Rishabh Pant’s under-19 coach Rahul Dravid’s support as the Indian Team coach will be supportive.

Rishabh Pant is the New Captain of Indian Cricket Team

According to Rishabh Pant, who is the New captain of Indian Cricket Team, there wouldn’t be many changes in the batting order except one or two. Previously Rishabh Pant captained Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021 in the absence of Shreyas Iyer.

India is short of key players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, and Ravindra Jadeja in the series. Whereas South Africa has all the crucial players part of the squad.

The first T20 match played today at (9th June 2022) at the Arun Jaitley stadium, Delhi has a very good record of chasing targets. Probably, a team winning the toss and choosing to bowl first has a higher chance of winning today’s match.

IND vs SA Probable XI

1. India: 

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad
  • Ishan Kishan
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Rishabh Pant (c & wk)
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Axar Patel
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Harshal Patel
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Umran Malik

2. South Africa: 

  • Quinton de Kock (wk)
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Rassie van der Dussen
  • Aiden Markram
  • Temba Bavuma (C)
  • David Miller
  • Dwaine Pretorious
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • Anrich Nortje

One thought on “Is Rishabh Pant the New captain of Indian Cricket Team?”
  1. […] It would be interesting to watch the competitive matches between India and South Africa under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma as well as the Indian Team Performance ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, as the previous 5-match T20I series against South Africa in JUNE 2022 was concluded with a draw by 2-2, under the captaincy of Rishabh Pant. […]

Leave a Reply